Challenge Participant


Monday, 6 December 2010

The Secret Seven by Enid Blyton (10 Exciting Adventures)

This box set includes books 1-10 in the popular Enid Blyton series about seven friends who create a secret gang who solve mysteries around their village.

When I was younger, I was a big Enid Blyton fan and when I was given the opportunity to review this box set I jumped at the chance!

The first thing I noticed was the covers - they are very modern, the characters look like they have come out of one of the latest animated movies. The books I had as a child, had covers with photographs of real people. I think that this modernised cover is one which does not fit with the books, the books are set in times when children were left to roam around the countryside all day, climbing trees and visiting the circus camp when the circus came to the village green and not in the 21st century where parents are reluctant to let children our of their sight.

I did however enjoy rereading these books - so much so that I was part way through the books and would remember how the mystery was solved. The books have lost none of their magic - the stories that were written over 50 years ago, but would still be a great read for children today. My children are enjoying the stories and I look forward to sharing more of their adventures with them as we read each book.

I have said that the covers do not match the books but this may be me being sentimental and nostalgic and please do not let this stop you from sharing these brilliant books with your children. It is a great box set and none of the magic Enid Blyton created all those years ago is still about now.

The Enid Blyton Secret Seven Collection, 10 Books in a Slipcase is only RRP £18.99.

Kids IQ Books are specialists in children’s books, with a wide array of heavily discounted sets and individual titles that will benefit anychild’s education and help make reading a pleasure.

Thank you to Kids IQ Books and PJP PR for sending me the book to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment