Challenge Participant


Friday, 9 August 2013

Kiss! (Dirty Bertie) by David Roberts and Alan MacDonald

Kiss! - Dirty Bertie Bk. 13

Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie as he struggles to escape from the clutches of Angela Nicely, looks after the elderly class hamster, ends up with a star solo trumpet performance, even though he's never played one before...

This is the 13th book in the popular series by David Roberts and Alan MacDonald. The main character, Dirty Bertie, is a delightful child. Where ever he goes trouble, mischief and mayhem seems to follow him. He has celebrated his tenth year in publishing this year and seems to go from strength to strength in his chaotic lifestyle

As with all Dirty Bertie books in the series, there are three stories within each book.Kiss!; Hamster! and Boast! are the titles within this book. Kiss sees Bertie trying to out dodge Angela Nicely and avoid her plan to plant a kiss on him. Hamster is the story of when Bertie is given the responsibility of looking after the class hamster over a weekend and Boast is about when Bertie boasts about his ability to play the trumpet and is asked to play in the school concert.

The stories are great for early readers who are gaining confidence in reading alone. The are short stories which have the text broken into manageable chunks by David Roberts' fantastic illustrations which show the chaos caused in Bertie's presence.

A perfect gift for children who are gaining confidence in their own reading ability or to share at story time. Perfect for fans of Horrid Henry.

Thank you to the publishers, Stripes Publishing, for sending me the book to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment