Challenge Participant


Saturday, 27 August 2011

Will you still love me tomorrow by Claudia Carroll

Absence makes the heart grow fonder!doesn't it? What happens when two people decide to give themselves the year off!from each other? Annie and Dan were the perfect couple. But now the not-so-newly weds feel more like flatmates than soul mates and wonder where all the fun and fireworks went ! When Annie lands her big break in a smash-hit show that's heading for the bright lights of Broadway, she's over the moon. Goodbye remote Irish village of Stickens, hello fabulous Big Apple! But with their relationship already on the rocks, how will Annie and Dan survive the distance? They're hitting the pause button on their marriage. One year off from each other -- no strings attached, except a date to meet in twelve months at the Rockefeller Centre to decide their fate. Will they both turn up? Or is it too late for love? Lose yourself in a fabulously entertaining and poignant love story -- perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.

This book was basically about if a marriage could last while the man, Dan, continued to live in the family home, running the veterinary surgery and continuing his hectic life while his wife, Annie, jets off to New York to be a part of a show that is set to take Broadway by storm! 

Although the main story is about Annie and Dan there are also other characters who play a big part in the story. Dan's mother is very needy, dependant on others (mainly Annie) and thinks that Annie is letting Dan down by moving to New York. Dan's sister, Jules, is Annie's ally, knowing how difficult it is to be at the beck and call of her mother. There are also Annie's cast members who all move to New York for the year: lead lady Liz, who's changing behaviour is cause for concern; Blythe, the oldest member of the cast;Chris, a married mother of one who has to cope with separation from her child and husband; Alex, the youngest member of the cast; and Jack, the suave and gorgeous producer. Each cast member have their own difficulties throughout the season, some more than others.

I enjoyed this book. I have read one other book by Claudia Carroll, Personally I blame my fairy godmother, which I found to be slow in places. However, I thought that this book was of quicker pace and I was liking the characters. At the start of the book, Annie was not enjoying her life, dreaming of what she used to have, and when she received the phone call for the audition, she found new energy and I found the journey she went on very encouraging. I also thought that Dan was very career driven and this can be true of people in modern day society. It was good to see the progression in their relationship and their returning to meet where Dan originally proposed, very romantic.  I  only had one 'problem' with the book, the continual use of the phrase "Anyroadup", not a phrase I am aware of but it seemed strange to see it littering the story. There was a wide range of emotions while reading the book; times of laughter, times of wanting to shake a character and telling them to get a grip and times when you wanted to cry along with the character. It gives the reader a look behind the scenes of a west end or Broadway stage show.

I love the cover of the book too, it is one that will definitely jump out at you on a bookshelf. A modern cover for a modern chick lit book!

This book was a great book to loose yourself in for an afternoon, a believable story where you hope everyone will live happily ever after but to find out if that is true, you need to read the book yourself!

A great summer read or to curl up with on a cold Sunday afternoon.

Thank you to the publishers, Avon, for sending me a copy to review.

1 comment: