Challenge Participant

Pages

Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Sealed with a kiss by Rachael Lucas

Sealed with a Kiss


* The Top Ten Kindle bestseller, now with brand NEW material! *

This funny, big-hearted novel is the perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.
Kate is dumped on her best friend's wedding day by the world's most boring boyfriend, Ian. She's mostly cross because he got in first - until she remembers she's now homeless as well as jobless. Rather than move back home to her ultra-bossy mother, Kate takes a job on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor as an all-round Girl Friday. Her first day is pretty much a disaster: she falls over, smack bang at the feet of her grouchy new boss, Roddy, Laird of the Island. Unimpressed with her townie ways, he makes it clear she's got a lot to prove.

Island life has no room for secrets, but prickly Roddy's keeping something to himself. When his demanding ex-girlfriend appears back on the island, Kate's budding friendship with her new boss comes to an abrupt end. What is Fiona planning - and can she be stopped before it's too late?

I really enjoyed this book - it was a great read, a quick read, and one which transported the reader to a remote Scottish island, where the reader can be lost in its beauty and village life.

Kate was a great character. I think that I could see myself as one of Kate's friend - although I don't think I would want to be the best friend, who's wedding saw Kate end her relationship with Ian! When she upped sticks and moved to Auchenmor, Kate not only left her boyfriend and family but also the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I envy people who can do this, I am too much a family girl and would be lost without family, friends and modern day conveniences.

The story is a true rom com - however, there is more to this book. I loved the love story but there is also one of seal rescue which was adorable. There is a good mix of humour and romance, making it great to add to any holiday luggage - perfect for a beach read or to while away long journeys, transporting its readers to the remote island, Rachael's narrative depicts a beautiful setting with idealic landscapes, in a peaceful location. 

The setting of this book is also very important, a remote Scottish island which has a close community - no one can sneeze in Auchenmor without everyone knowing, and this is important to the story where the village community are often involved in the fate on its members. The characters were also very believable and I would love to live in a close knit community such as this one.

I read the book in two sittings and was left wanting more. I hope that Rachel revisits Kate and Rodderick in a future book as I felt this book was only the beginning of their story.

Thank you to the publishers, Macmillan and Net Galley for sending me the book to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment