Challenge Participant


Monday, 28 January 2013

The Magic Toyshop series by Jessie Little

Rag Bag Friends: Bk. 6 - Magic ToyshopThe Naughty Croc - Magic ToyshopTreasure Island Trouble - Magic ToyshopThe Rabbit Rescue: Bk. 5 - Magic Toyshop
The Hoozles are all individual and no two are the same. They each have a special pocket, in which their new owner must place something very special to them - which enables them to come to life when no adults are around. Most of the Hoozles are nice and kind, except Naughty Croc who is forever into mischief and no good. It is up to the Hoozle Council, Wizard the Owl,Lovely the pony and Grouchy the Penguin, to ensure peace is kept at all times.

Each book introduces new characters to the stories and there are many adventures that the Hoozles go on - all to do with Naughty Croc's latest  mischief. 

The stories all feature the fantastic illustrations of Penny Dann who brings The Hoozles to life. The stories are perfect for early readers to read alone or to be shared a chapter at night between a child and their peers. 

They remind me in some way to Care Bears from my childhood but they are fantastic characters in their own right and I am sure children will enjoy reading these stories. I could also see an opening in the market for The Hoozles as toys, of course they couldn't come to life but the idea of a child putting something in their special heart pocket is a lovely idea. I especially loved the Ragbag Friends story which saw Croc making his own toys from the scraps of fabric he found - something which is becoming popular again as Make do and Mend makes a comeback!

Thank you to the publisher Faber Kids for sending me the books to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment