Challenge Participant


Monday, 28 January 2013

Cupcakes at Carrington's by Alexandra Brown

Cupcakes at Carringtons
A deliciously indulgent read from a hot debut writer and first in a series of books set in Carrington's Department Store - where life is sweeter...Perfect for fans of Meet Me in the Cupcake Cafe and Breakfast at Darcy's. Georgie Hart had it all - as a top personal shopper in London, the heady world of Mulberry launch parties and Louis Vuitton goody bags meant she was living the dream. But all that extravagance took its toll on her bank balance and it was time to stop drinking champagne on beer money. Now Georgie runs the luxury bag concession at Carrington's Department store in the pretty seaside town of Mulberry Bay and her lavish spending is confined to a red velvet cupcake with butter cream icing in Carrington's cafe. But her plans for a quiet life are thwarted when Carrington's goes into a recession-busting makeover and soon, with the arrival of Maxine, wielding the axe in her immaculately manicured hands, Georgie is fighting not only for her job, but also for the attentions of her dishy boss, James. And when newcomer Tom arrives, who may or may not be the best thing since sliced bread, Georgie must decide where her loyalties really lie...

This was one of the books I was looking forward to in 2013 and I have not been disappointed!

The book is set in a top department store and the main character, Georgie, works there, surrounded by high quality and luxury goods, which she sells to the customers. She loves her job but also loves high quality lifestyles which has done serious damage to her bank balance and credit rating! However, when Maxine is drafted in to guide the company through a recession-busting makeover, Georgie is left fighting for her job.

I really enjoyed this book, it is a lighthearted read with a number of story lines running through the book, culminating in a great ending which has left me already looking forward to the second in the promised trilogy set within Carrington's.There are a number of interesting characters who I am already looking forward to meeting again in the other two books in the trilogy, each have their own story which when woven together make a great read.

No comments:

Post a Comment