Challenge Participant


Saturday, 17 September 2011

Dirty Bertie Snow! by David Roberts and Alan MacDonald

Snow! - Dirty Bertie Bk.15

Dirty Bertie - the boy with nose-pickingly disgusting habits - is back for another helping of comic chaos! Join Bertie as he takes on the challenge of beating. Know - all Nick in a sledge race, breaks a revolting world record, and changes the course of history during a battle re-enactment...

Dirty Bertie is a firm favorite in our house and this book is no exception. A perfect read for a winter evening, this is the 15th book in the popular series.

As usual there are three stories within this book;Snow!; Battle; and Record! Snow! is about the first fall of snow for the year and Bertie has to use the old  sledge he found in his Granny's shed and has a race against Know-it-all Nick.
Battle is about when Dirty Bertie accompanies his father to a re-enactment with the Battle-Axe Battle Society and attempts to rewrite history. The third story, Record, is when the school attempt to break a world record for building the biggest penny pyramid, while Dirty Bertie would prefer to set a record for burping.

The stories are full of fun and humour and will leave the young readers wanting to read more about Dirty Bertie's adventures and giggling away. The stories are perfect for early readers and are a perfect length for night time stories, although be prepared for giggles at bedtime. 

I also love the pictures throughout the book, David Roberts is a very talented illustrator and captures the mischief of the stories within the pictures perfectly.

I would recommend this book as ideal for young boys and girls who are gaining confidence in reading alone or who enjoy listening to stories. They are perfect for fans of Horrid Henry too.

Thank you to Stripes Publishing for sending me the book to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment