Challenge Participant


Tuesday, 2 September 2014

Blog Tour Review - Violet and the Pearly Orient by Harriet Whitehorn

Violet and the Pearl of the Orient

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making...When a new family move in next door, Violet is sure there's something strange about them. Then her eccentric, but lovely neighbour, Dee Dee Derota, has a precious jewel stolen. Could the new family be to blame? Violet is on the case to uncover the truth...With a beautiful hardback package complete with two colour illustrations throughout by emerging talent, Becka Moore, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world. Perfect for fans of Dixie O'Day, Ottoline, Goth Girl and Darcy Burdock.

This is a fantastic book for young detectives, Violet Remy-Robinson is, herself, a wannabe sleuth, who knows as soon as she meets her new neighbours that something is not quite right. There are clues throughout the book as to the crime and its culprits.

It is a great book, written for the 9+ audience. It has a fantastic cover which depicts the characters perfectly. Printed in hues of violet and a light turquoise, this all adds to the 'spookiness of the book'. It reminds me of a kind of Addams family style family who have moved into the neighbourhood, neighbours to Violet Remy-Robinson.

This is one of a series of books featuring Violet but is great as a stand alone book which I am sure will encourage readers to find more of Harriet's books to read in the future.

Thank you to the publishers, Simon and Schuster Children's Books, for sending me the book to review.

1 comment:

  1. This may require some adjustments in personality, set your ego aside. Quantity success with family members will be much higher than if you approach a bank or a bank. Even without a job, loved ones will understand the difficulties they are facing and be more apt to lend a sympathetic ear and open pockets. You should draw up a payment plan and provide a modest amount attention.

    His next location could be your employer or your personal bank. Some bosses will make loans because their attention is to do it. It promotes loyalty to him or her by you, the employee. There is no worry about where you work, what you get paid. Thus, there is a lot of paperwork or checking qualifications.

    short term loans online