Challenge Participant


Thursday, 21 April 2011

The Perfect Hero by Victoria Connelly

The sparkling follow-up to A Weekend with Mr Darcy from Victoria Connelly -- set to become the Richard Curtis of the chick-lit world! The circus has come to town! Die-hard romantic, Kay Ashton, uses her inheritance to open a B&B in the seaside town of Lyme Regis and is dumbstruck when the cast and crew of a new production of Persuasion descend, needing a place to stay. Kay can't believe her luck -- especially when she realises that heart throb actor Oli Wade Owen will be sleeping under her very own roof! Meanwhile, co-star Gemma Reilly is worried that her acting isn't up to scratch, despite landing a plum role. She finds a sympathetic ear in shy producer, Adam Craig, who is as baffled by the film world as she is. Kay thinks the two are meant for each other and can't resist a spot of matchmaking. Then, when Oli turns his trademark charm on Kay, it seems that she has found her real-life hero. But do heroes really exist? Featuring a cast of characters that could have stepped out of a Jane Austen novel, this is the perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Alexandra Potter.
Book details
PublisherAVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

I absolutely loved Victoria Connelly's first Jane Austen inspired book, A Weekend With Mr Darcy, and have been looking forward to this book since I finished it. I was not disappointed. This is another Jane Austen inspired book, set in Lyme Regis where Persuasion was set.

Following the death of both her mother, and Peggy Sullivan, an old lady who was in the same nursing home as her mother and a dear old lady that she enjoyed reading Jane Austen books to, Kay was astonished to discover she had inherited all of Peggy's effects. Leaving an office job she didn't enjoy, Kay decided to follow her dream and move to Lyme Regis to concentrate on her passion, art, and especially creating illustrations to accompany Pride and Prejudice. Buying a Bed and Breakfast in Lyme Regis with her inheritance gives her a home, an income and the ability to draw in Jane Austen country. A film company are filming Persuasion nearby, and following a leaking pipe in the casts hotel, some of the crew end up at Kay's B&B. There are possible relationships blossoming but who will Kay go out with - Producer Adam or Lead Actor Oli Wade Oweb.

This was a great read, with great characters. I would love to stop in Kay's Bed and Breakfast, it sounds like a homely establishment and the views and countryside described by Connelly sounded gorgeous.

I love Connelly's writing style, it has a flowing style, which reads easily. She is descriptive, without being overly so, funny and romantic. A perfect book to loose yourself in.

There is a hint of a secret halfway through the book and I guessed it there and then and later found it to be true, it didn't ruin the story for me and I still hoped that all would end good in the end - however, i won't reveal if it came true, you need to read the book to find out.

As I hope you can tell, I really enjoyed this book. A great read for Jane Austen fans or just a lover of a good old chick lit book. I, for one, can not wait until Connelly releases the third in this trilogy of Jane Austen inspired novels.

Thank you to Avon for sending me this book to review.

No comments:

Post a Comment